State Aid


The Arkansas Department of Higher Education (ADHE) offers several financial assistance programs to Arkansas residents pursuing an education at an accredited Arkansas institution of higher education. State aid is financial aid from ADHE to help you pay for education expenses. Students must complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid and the ADHE YOUniversal Application as early as October 1 but must be completed before June 1 to qualify for any state assistance for the following academic year. Some of the most common ADHE awards include the Arkansas Academic Challenge Scholarship, Governor’s Scholars Program Scholarship,  GO! Grant (no new awards), Arkansas Future Grant (ArFuture), and other aid programs.


Basic Student Eligibility


General eligibility requirements are that a student must:

  • Be a U.S. citizen or an eligible non-citizen, as defined by the U.S. Department of Education
  • Be an Arkansas resident
  • Be accepted/enrolled as a regular student in an eligible degree/certificate program at an accredited Arkansas college/university
  • Maintain Satisfactory Academic Progress
  • Complete the FAFSA

The Arkansas Department of Higher Education is the final authority on all state aid programs for the state of Arkansas. All awards will be based on the most current regulations, which can be found on ADHE’s website. Information included in the UAFS Financial Aid website is solely for information purposes is not intended to be used as any authority governing any state aid program.


For more information regarding state aid programs that are available, please visit the ADHE Scholarships and Programs page.